What are the different scheduling algorithms?

Listed below are the different scheduling algorithms:

  1. First come, first serve: The process which requests the CPU first gets the CPU allocation first.
  2. Shortest job first: Here, the process with the shortest execution time should be selected for execution next.
  3. Priority scheduling: Here, the scheduler selects the tasks to work as per the priority.
  4. Multiple level queues: Processes are assigned to a queue based on a specific property like the process priority, size of the memory, etc.
  5. Shortest remaining time: Here, the process will be allocated to the task, which is closest to its completion.
  6. Round Robin: Each process that comes, in turn, gets an equal share of time.

When we talk of scheduling or its algorithm in Operating System in particular we mean ‘CPU Scheduling’.

Coming to question, In OS we have so many scheduling algorithms but at btech level we primarily have 6 CPU Scheduling Algorithms.

Again, among these 6 algorithms CPU more often uses only two: fcfs and round robin.

However, all the algorithms are listed below:

  1. First Come First Served Scheduling

  2. Shortest Job First Scheduling

  3. Priority Scheduling

  4. Round Robin Scheduling

  5. Multilevel queue Scheduling

  6. Multilevel feedback Scheduling