What are the 3 categories of security?

There are three primary areas or classifications of security controls. These include

  • management security,
  • operational security,
  • physical security controls.

What is Management Security?

Management security is the overall design of your controls. Sometimes referred to as administrative controls, these provide the guidance, rules, and procedures for implementing a security environment.

What is Operational Security?

Operational Security is the effectiveness of your controls. Sometimes referred to as technical controls, these include access controls, authentication, and security topologies applied to networks, systems, and applications.

What is Physical Security?

Physical security is the protection of personnel, data, hardware, etc., from physical threats that could harm, damage, or disrupt business operations or impact the confidentiality, integrity, or availability of systems and/or data.