Statistical Measures

Woah! The title looks very mathematical. Have you just lost interest to read on? Maybe or maybe not. But, I guess there could be some exciting measures which can after all save us at some point in life. Mine went on like this. Now, I was a very bad student in school. So, I ended up getting average marks. Oh wait! What does average mean? That is where I was lucky that I knew how to use my statistical measures effectively and get away from my parent’s tantrums. So, let’s dive in and learn a few tricks.

We all are familiar with the concept mean. It is the sum of all the numbers divided by the count of numbers. Let us consider a scenario where you want show you performed well in a test. By calculating the mean we know the middle most value. The score one obtained falls in between the lowest and the highest value. If most of your classmates performance(score) is near the average/mean value and if your score is well above the mean and slightly towards the right that can be used to confirm that you performed well compared to your peers. (This saved me from my mom than anything I have ever thought of).

Now, let us also see a case where we want to know how the whole class performed. What are the lowest and highest scores? What is the spread/dispersion of the scores? The concept called Standard Deviation can be used to understand these values. The standard deviation is a measure of the amount of variation or dispersion of a set of values. It gives you the exact distances from the mean. A low standard deviation indicates that the values tend to be close to the mean of the set, while a high standard deviation indicates that the values are spread out over a wider range.