Stages and Best Practices?

Following the best practices and/or stages of SDLC ensures the process works in a smooth, efficient, and productive way.

1. Identify the Current Problems

“What are the current problems?” This stage of the SDLC means getting input from all stakeholders, including customers, salespeople, industry experts, and programmers. Learn the strengths and weaknesses of the current system with improvement as the goal.

2. Plan

“What do we want?” In this stage of the SDLC, the team determines the cost and resources required for implementing the analyzed requirements. It also details the risks involved and provides sub-plans for softening those risks.

In other words, the team should determine the feasibility of the project and how they can implement the project successfully with the lowest risk in mind.

3. Design

“How will we get what we want?” This phase of the SDLC starts by turning the software specifications into a design plan called the Design Specification. All stakeholders then review this plan and offer feedback and suggestions. It’s crucial to have a plan for collecting and incorporating stakeholder input into this document. Failure at this stage will almost certainly result in cost overruns at best and the total collapse of the project at worst.

4. Build

“Let’s create what we want.”

At this stage, the actual development starts. It’s important that every developer sticks to the agreed blueprint. Also, make sure you have proper guidelines in place about the code style and practices.