If you have two pages that are about the same thing and have the same names (or almost the same–Facebook requires that they be very similar), it’s a good idea to merge the pages. Merging duplicate pages merges the fans, ratings and check-ins of both pages. However, the posts, photos and username are deleted from the secondary page.
Here are a few caveats to be aware of before merging pages:
- You can keep the full post history from only one of the pages. You’ll be able to select which page you want to keep.
- Pages can’t be merged.
- You must be an admin of both pages to merge them.
After you click Keep Page, you get one more confirmation message, and then the pages are reviewed for possible merging. Facebook will notify you when the pages have been merged or give you a reason why they haven’t been merged. It helps to have the pages’ names, locations and other information the same so it’s clear to Facebook that they represent the same business.