The original repository is copied and stored in the GitHub account after forking. Cloning, on the other hand, involves copying the repository to a local workstation using Git. To propose modifications to the repository owners, forking is utilized. If the user has to write access, the changes are directly pushed to the original repository during cloning. Within a repository, a branch allows you to continue creating and altering software without impacting the main project.